Dental Foundation Training (DFT) National Recruitment – Scheme Information

Expressing preferences will be completed via the Oriel online recruitment system. On 12 December 2019, eligible applicants will be able to log into the system and submit their preferences and will have until 09 June 2020 to complete. Applicants are advised to look at this Scheme information carefully in order to make informed decisions on preferencing. Once the preferencing window closes no changes can be made.

Please note, the email regarding preferencing will come from Please ensure your email settings regarding SPAM allow emails to be received from

Any emails from this address are authentic.

Please note, the information supplied in these documents has been provided to London and South East Recruitment by the relevant HEE Local Office/Deanery for these schemes. For further information regarding each scheme, please contact the Local Office/Deanery directly using the local HEE/Deanery website. If you still have further questions, please contact us through the London and South East Recruitment Applicant Support Portal.


If an applicant excludes a scheme during the preferencing stage, they will not be considered for that scheme at this or any later stages of the process. Applicants should only rank schemes in which they are prepared to train and should ensure that they understand the full nature of the schemes on offer including their geographical location.

Please be aware that post numbers given are indicative and subject to change before offers go out.

Deanery/ Region

Scheme name

Health Education East Midlands

Derbyshire Scheme

Nottinghamshire Scheme

Lincolnshire Scheme

Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland Scheme

Northamptonshire Scheme

Health Education East of England

Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Scheme

Norfolk and Waveney Scheme

Bedfordshire and Luton Scheme

Mid and South Essex Scheme

Suffolk and North East Essex Scheme

Hertfordshire and West Essex Scheme

London and Kent, Surrey and Sussex

East Kent and Medway Scheme

Surrey Scheme

Sussex Scheme

North Kent Scheme

North West London Scheme

North London Scheme

East London Scheme

South East London Scheme

South West London Scheme

Pilot - Guys and Kings Scheme

Pilot - QMUL Scheme

South Central London Scheme

Health Education North East

Central Scheme

GPT Scheme (24 months)

North Scheme

South Scheme

West Scheme

Health Education North West

Cheshire and Merseyside (NE) Scheme

Cheshire and Merseyside (NW) Scheme

Cheshire and Merseyside (SE) Scheme

Cheshire and Merseyside (SW) Scheme

Greater Manchester (NE) Scheme

Greater Manchester (NW) Scheme

Greater Manchester (SE) Scheme

Greater Manchester (SW) Scheme

South Cumbria and Lancashire Scheme (12 months)

South Cumbria and Lancashire Scheme (24 months)

Northern Ireland Deanery

Northern Ireland Scheme

Health Education South West

Bath and West Scheme

Bristol and South Cotswolds Scheme

Devon and Coastal Scheme

Dorset and Wiltshire Scheme

Somerset Scheme

West Devon and Cornwall Scheme

Health Education Thames Valley,
Health Education Wessex

Berkshire Scheme

Buckinghamshire Scheme

Oxfordshire Scheme

Portsmouth Scheme

Winchester Scheme

Wales Deanery

Cardiff and Barry Scheme

Glamorgan Vale and Beacons Scheme

Newport and South East Wales Scheme

North Wales Scheme

Swansea Vale Scheme

Swansea and West Wales Scheme

Health Education West Midlands

Birmingham and Black Country Scheme

Birmingham and Solihull Scheme

Coventry and Warwickshire Scheme

Herefordshire and Worcestershire Scheme

Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin Scheme

Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent Scheme

Health Education Yorkshire & Humber

Yorkshire Area 1 - North, West and East Scheme

Yorkshire Area 2 - North and West Scheme

Yorkshire Area 3 - South and West Scheme

Yorkshire and Humber Longitudinal (LDFT) Scheme (24 months)