SuppoRTT Champions


What is a SuppoRTT Champion?

SuppoRTT Champions are based in every secondary care trust and Specialty School in London & Kent, Surrey and Sussex. Their role is to provide leadership within the Trust/School to ensure that the SuppoRTT strategy is fully implemented and results in a high-quality supported return to training for all concerned.

The SuppoRTT Champion:

   -  Oversees the return-to-training process;

   -  Provides trainees and supervisors with guidance regarding the relevant policies and available resources.

The trainee’s first point of contact is their educational supervisor or training programme director throughout the return-to-work process. However, if additional guidance and support is required trainees, educators and other staff can contact their local SuppoRTT Champion and the SuppoRTT team.


More information

SuppoRTT Champion’s role description.



Trust Champions

Who is my Trust SuppoRTT Champion?*


North Central East London

Barking, Havering & Redbridge University Hospitals NHS Trust - Muhammad Saleem

Barnet, Enfield and Haringey Mental Health NHS Trust - Vivienne Gould

Barts Health NHS Trust - Rifca Le Dieu

Camden and Islington NHS Foundation Trust - Gina Waters & Stephanie Veeraswamy 

East London NHS Foundation Trust - Laura Checkley

Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust Imke Meyer-Parsonson

Homerton University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust - Corrine Quah

Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust - Paul Sullivan

North East London NHS Foundation Trust - Sonali Gupta

North Middlesex University Hospital NHS Trust - Alice Man

Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust - Ayano Funaki

The Tavistock and Portman NHS Foundation Trust - Siobhan Netherwood

University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust - Elsya Speechly-Dick 

Whittington NHS Trust - Michela Rossi


South London

Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust - Michele McCarthy 

St George's University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust - Rosy Wells

King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust - Daniel Bailey

Croydon Health Services NHS Trust - Nima Hashemi

Epsom & St Helier University Hospitals NHS Trust - Sohail Yousaf

Kingston Hospital NHS Trust -  Rebecca Hodgkinson

Lewisham and Greenwich NHS Trust Mohamed Hammadeh (Queen Elizabeth Hospital) & Teresa Sealy (University Hospital Lewisham) & Annette Cooke Suzanne Faulkner

Oxleas NHS Foundation Trust - Annette Amodu & Akim Kassim

South West London and St George's Mental Health NHS Trust Suhana Ahmed

South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust - Ruth Cairns


North West London

Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust - Alison Conway

Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust Michelle Hayes (Chelsea and Westminster Hospital) and Anu Sharma (West Middlesex University Hospital)

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust - Taryn Youngstein

London North West Healthcare NHS Trust Ashiya Ali

Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Foundation Trust - Dr Beverly Tsai-Goodman (Royal Brompton Hospital) and Francesca Caliandro (Harefield Hospital) & Medical Education

The Hillingdon Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Ritu Gupta & Jide Menakaya

The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust Jaishree Bhosle & James Coeur-de-Lion / Danielle Hynes

West London Mental Health NHS Trust Heidi Hales


Kent, Surrey and Sussex

Ashford and St. Peter's Hospitals NHS Trust - Anneliese Lawn

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust - Jess Felton & Nora Tester 

Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust Urmila Singh

East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust Jalal Maryosh

East Sussex Hospitals NHS Trust - Ratan Alexander

Frimley Park Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust - Michelle Carr & Kirsty Smith

Kent and Medway NHS and Social Care Partnership - Ivana Pristicova

Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust - Emma Townsend & Anita Mann

Medway NHS Foundation Trust - Ginny Bowbrick

Queen Victoria Hospital NHS Foundation Trust Emma Glasgow

Royal Surrey NHS Foundation Trust Kathleen Potter

Surrey and Borders NHS Foundation Trust Aaron Vallance

Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust Ruth Hartley Victoria Bates Tina Suttle-Smith

Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust - Kristina Antonova

Sussex Community NHS Foundation TrustLiza Neville

University Hospitals Sussex NHS Foundation Trust Mary Campbell & Kate Solan

Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust - Mary Campbell & Sam Vaughan


Out of London - for London trainees

West Hertfordshire Hospitals NHS Trust - Michelle Jacobs


*The above listed Champions are up-to-date as of 10th Jan. 2022.

School Champion

Who is my School SuppoRTT Champion?*


Anaesthesia - Munita Grover and Anna Fowler

Clinical Oncology - Sarah Needleman

Clinical Radiology - Kate Hawtin and Samira Rostampour

Dental - Helen Tippett

Emergency Medicine - Lucy Bingham

Medicine and Medical Specialities - Jonathan Birns

Obstetrics and Gynaecology - Kathryn Thompsett

Occupational Health - Lisa Curran

Ophthalmology - Paul Sullivan

Paediatrics - Trisha Radia

Pathology - Sophie Collier

Psychiatry - Alison Conway  

Public Health - Eva Hrobonova 

Surgery - Clare Rees

Foundation - Anthea Parry

General Practice    

North West London - Eleanor Worthington

North East & Central London -

South London - Penny MilnerNiro Amin, Farwa Hasan & Alexander Lai 


Kent, Surrey and Sussex

Anaesthesia - Nicola Somerville Dawn Martindale

Clinical Oncology - Sarah Needleman

Clinical Radiology - not yet appointed

Dental - Helen Tippett

Emergency Medicine - Amanda Morrice and Helen Cannon

Medicine and Medical Specialities - Viral Patel

Obstetrics and Gynaecology - Rebecca Mallick

Occupational Health - Lisa Curran

Ophthalmology - Adam Bates (maternity cover)

Paediatrics - Catherine Wynne

Pathology - Sophie Collier

Psychiatry - Martin Schmidt

Surgery - Shirley Chan

Foundation - Jan Welch

General Practice -  Pavan Uppal


*This list is up to date as of 10th Jan. 2022